Bulli Surf Life Saving Club
Bulli Surf Life Saving Club

Around The Club


Education Team wins award at Illawarra AOE

TEAM OF THE YEAR went to our Education Team made up of Dean Dudley (Chief Instructor/Director of Education), Malcolm Nelson (Education Officer), Jamie Caldwell, Mitch Hand, Keith Caldwell, Sean Taylor, Scott Gordon & Leanne Lunney (Junior Education Officer)

Our Education Team is a blend of experienced members in all facets of surf life saving. All of the team members are very busy people outside surf life saving but all are committed in making sure our members are trained to the highest degree to achieve their respective awards.

Numerous award courses were conducted this year along with 6 annual proficiency dates for all patrolling & surf sports members to make sure all awards are current as per lifesaving requirements.

The Education Team trained, assessed & facilitated 3 Bronze Medallion & Surf Rescue Certificate, 3 Advanced Resuscitation Techniques Certificate, 3 Spinal Management & 1 IRB Driver/Crewman (in association with SLSA) courses throughout the season.  

A new younger member, namely Mitchell Hand has joined the team and is now a Trainer with 10 SLSA awards. 

The team has a very good work ethic and well organized with the courses, all members have excellent written & oral communication skills, plus manage people very well. Our Education Team makes sure that they are always on top of new developments within lifesaving & education. SLSI, SLSNSW & SLSA emails, circulars etc are consistently checked. Each member takes a responsibility to make sure we have a Bulli representative at important meetings, thus keeping Bulli Surf Club abreast of new skills & requirements.

TOTAL AWARDS (awards & proficiency's) GAINED this season numbered 999 

The team combined has over 72 SLSA awards between them and also this season alone other than training & educating our members, also spent over 226.50 hours on patrol duty within the club, which is outstanding. 

Congratulations to our Education Team an award well deserved and they are all important members of our club